President's Report

Information Theory Society
Board of Governors Meeting
IEEE Information Theory Workshop
Baltimore, MD, USA
March 14, 2007

Thanks To

- Dave Neuhoff
- Steve McLaughlin

2007 IT Society Officers

- Elected by the Board of Governors (BOG)
 - 2nd VP -- Andrea Goldsmith, Stanford
 - 1nd VP -- Marc Fossorier, Hawaii
 - President -- Bixio Rimoldi, EPFL
 - Past President -- Dave Neuhoff, Michigan
 - Senior Past President -- Steve McLaughlin, Georgia Tech

- Appointed by President with BOG approval
 - Treasurer -- Anant Sahai, Berkeley
 - Secretary -- João Barros, Porto
 - Transactions Editor in Chief -- Vince Poor, Princeton
 - Publications editors -- Elza Erkip, Polytechnic
 - -- Adriaan van Wijngaarden, Bell Labs
 - Online Editor -- Nick Laneman, Notre Dame
 - Newsletter Editor -- Daniela Tuninetti
 - Historian -- Tony Ephremides, Maryland
 - Information Officer -- Ubli Mitra, USC
 - IEEE Press Liaison -- John Anderson, Lund
 - Book Reviews -- John Anderson, Lund

IT Society Board of Governors (BOG)

- Giuseppe Caire, USC
- Rob Calderbank, Princeton
- Dan Costello, Notre Dame
- Dave Forney, MIT
- Alex Grant, South Australia
- Tor Helleseth, Bergen
- Ralf Koetter, TU Munich
- Ryuji Kohno, Yokohama
- Frank Kschishang, Toronto

- Andi Loeliger, ETHZ
- Muriel Medard, MIT
- Ubli Mitra, USC
- Prakash Narayan, Maryland
- Alon Orlitsky, UCSD
- Shlomo Shamai, Technion
- David Tse, UC Berkeley
- Venu Veeravalli, Illinois
- Ken Zeger, UC San Diego

State of the Society

- IT Transactions
- Conferences and workshops
- Awards
- Membership
- Finances

IT Transactions

- The 7.5% growth since 1990 has stopped (5776 pages in 2006)
- Number and quality of submitted and accepted papers remains high
- Editor-in-Chief's report later (Vince Poor)

Conferences and Workshops

- Conference and workshops are
 - excellent
 - well attended
 - making money
- Not bid yet for ISIT'10: time to jump start the process
- Symposia and Workshop Report later (Alex Grant)

IT Society Awards

- IT Best Paper
- IT/ComSoc Paper
- Shannon Award
- Aaron Wyner Distinguished Service Award (Name OK)
- Chapter of the Year Award

2007 IEEE Medals and Awards

- Tom Kailath -- Medal of Honor
- Norman Abramson -- Alexander Graham Bell Medal
- Abraham Lempel -- Richard W. Hamming Medal,
- Irwin Jacobs and Andrew Viterbi -- J. C. Maxwell Award
- M. Luby and A. Shokrollahi -- Eric Sumner Award

US National Academy of Engineering

- New Members Elected (4 of 10 from the E. section)
 - Bob Gray
 - P.R. Kumar
 - John Tsitsiklis
 - Sergio Verdú
- New Foreign Associate (one of two)
 - Kees A. Schouhamer Immink

Membership

• January 2006

• January 2007

IT Society

- Students -- 418, -14.9 %
- Total -- 3,601, -6.9 %
- Regular -- 3,122, -1.5 %
- Students -- 366, -12.4 %
- − Total -- 3,492, -3% %

IEEE

- Regular -- 295,868, -1.2 %
- Student -- 79,730, +5.9 %
- Total -- 375,598, +0.2 %

IEEE

- Regular -- 297,189, 0.4 %
- Student -- 87,734, 10 %
- Total -- 484,923, 2.5 %

Finances

- Very Sound: reserves larger than annual budget. IEEE recommendation: reserve = $0.5 \times (annual budget)$
- Treasurer's report later (Anant Sahai).
- We should be thinking of ways to put some of the reserve to good use.

"Challenges"

- Quinquennial IEEE Review if the IT Society
- Membership: do we have a problem? No consensus so far
- Our main "product" (transactions and conferences) are in good shape: what else can we do to increase the value that the IT Society provides to the community (at large)?

New Initiatives in 2006

- Student Committee:
 - budget increased to 10K
 - Student paper award at ISIT'07
- For a three-year trial period, IT Society members have electronic access to Proceedings
- New Positions/Committees:
 - Standing Conference Committee (chaired by Alex G.)
 - Ad-hoc Funding Committee: (chaired by Venu V.
 - Online Editor (Nick L.)
- Transactions:
 - hierarchical table of content according to technical area
 - 5 page limit to Correspondence items. The discussion continues.
- Technical Co-Sponsorship: Negotiations with IEEE

Initiatives for (Consideration in) 2007

- Build/Maintain "Infrastructure" to Facilitate Business
 - Revision of Constitution and Bylaws (Neuhoff & McLaughlin)
 - Ad Hoc committee on Online Content (Laneman)
 - Technical co-sponsorship: MOU (Neuhoff).
 - Policy on overlapping IT and ISIT papers (Conf. Committee)
- Initiatives to make wise use of the extra reserve

- Initiatives Concerning Membership and Community
 - Membership ad-hoc committee. Proposal at ISIT'07 (Goldsmith)
 - Creation of opportunities for junior members and students
 - Encourage faculty to encourage students to join
 - A real Distinguished Lecturer program
 - Exciting talks, of educational value, by inspiring people, for various audiences (including undergraduates and possibly high-school)

Thanks